The Benton-Franklin Council of Governments (BFCG) is a voluntary association of the units of local government, whose purpose is to facilitate a cooperative approach to regional problem solving. Our Board is the governing body which meets monthly to discuss such regional issues, make decisions regarding the Benton-Franklin Council of Governments, and to discuss Metropolitan and Regional Transportation Planning issues. The Board presently claims 17 regular members, 1 associate member, and 2 affiliate members.

Benton-Franklin Council of Governments Board Members

  • James Beaver, Benton County
  • Linda Lehman, Benton City
  • Dave Wooten/City of Kahlotus
  • David Ferguson, City of Mesa
  • Randy Taylor, Prosser
  • Brent Gerry, West Richland
  • Robert Larson, Port of Benton
  • Skip Novakovich (Vice President), Port of Kennewick
  • Brad Peck, Franklin County
  • Bruce Blackwell, Connell
  • Matt Boehnke, Kennewick
  • Matt Watkins, Pasco
  • Dave Rose (Secretary), Richland
  • Bob Koch (President), Ben Franklin Transit
  • (Pending), Port of Pasco
  • Lori Sanders, Benton PUD
  • WA State Dept. of Transportation:  Todd/TrepanierSC Regional Administrator

In addition, the following maintain associate or affiliate (non-voting) member status:

  • Benton Rural Electric Association

The United States Department of Energy maintains an Ex-Officio membership on the Council of Governments.

In addition to our regular governing board, the Economic Development District (EDD) designation requires a separate EDD board which governs planning activities of the Economic Development District and loan program actions. Our Economic Development District Board includes the regular BFCG board membership listed above and 9 private sector members.

Benton-Franklin Council of Governments Economic Development District Board Members

  • Kris Watkins, Visit Tri-Cities
  • Carl Adrian, TRIDEC
  • Deb Heinz, Prosser Economic Development Association
  • Jack Fitzgerald, WorkForce Tri-Cities
  • Carol Woo
  • Andrew Klein
  • Trini Garibay
  • Thomas Fisher
  • Amanda Jones

The Benton-Franklin Council of Governments Board and the Benton-Franklin Economic Development District Board meet jointly the third Friday of each month at noon at El Chapala Mexican Restaurant, 107 E. Columbia Drive, Kennewick.  The public is welcome to attend and there is opportunity for public comment. All meeting dates are subject to change, please see meeting calendar for details.